MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE 24th ACADEMIC COUNCIL (EMERGENCY) HELD ON 08 MARCH 2019 at 10.00 AM

The meeting of the Academic Council (Emergency) was held on 08 March 2019 at 10:00 AM at Leading University, Ragibnagar, South Surma, Sylhet. Prof. Dr. Md. Qumruzzaman Chowdhury, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, LU and Chairman of the Academic Council, LU presided over the meeting.

The following members attended the meeting:

| | 1. | Prof. Dr. Md. Qumruzzaman Chowdhury, Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, LU | Chairman |
|----|-----|--|-----------------|
| | 2. | Prof. Dr. M. Rakib Uddin, Dean, Faculty of Modern Science, LU | Member |
| | 3. | Dr. Wahiduzzaman Khan, Associate Prof. & Head, Dept. of BuA, LU | Member |
| | 4. | Mr. Md. Rezaul Karim, Associate. Prof. & Head, Dept. of English & Director, IQAC, LU | J Member |
| | 5. | Mr. Rumel M. S. Rahman Pir, Associate Prof. & Head, Dept. of EEE, LU | Member |
| | 6. | Mr. Abdullah Al-Mamun, Asst. Professor, Dept. of Law, LU | Member |
| | 7. | Mr. Md. Mahbubur Rahaman, Asst. Prof & Head (Acting), Dept. of THM, LU | Member |
| 2 | 8. | Mr. Md. Abu Zafor, Asst. Prof & Head (Acting), Dept. of Civil Engineering, LU | Member |
| · | 9. | Mr. Minhazul Haque Bhulyan, Asst. Prof. & Head (In-Charge), Dept. of CSE, LU | Member |
| | 10. | Ms Tanjima Siddika Chandni, Asst. Professor, Dept. of Architecture, LU | Member |
| | 11. | Mr. KMA Shafique, Asst. Prof & Head (Acting), Dept. of Public Health, LU | Member |
| ę. | 12. | M. Fazly Balebi Marnun, Lecturer & Head (Acting), Dept. of Islamic Studies, LU | Member |
| | 13. | 1' of. Dr. M. R. Cabir, Nommee, Board of Trustees, LU | Member |
| | 14. | Prof. Dr. A.N.M. Meshquat Uddin, Nominee, Board of Trustees, LU | Member |
| | 15. | Mr. Shaikul Haque Chowdhury, Nominee, Board of Trustees, LU | Member |
| | 16. | Prof. Dr. Md. Jahir Bin Alam, Department of Civil Engineering, LU (Syndicate Nominee |) Member |
| | 17. | Prof. Dr. A. Z. M Manzoor Rashid, Department of FES, SUST (Syndicate Nominee) | Member |
| | 18. | Dr. Mohammad Mostak Ahmed, Controller of Examinations, LU | Invitee |
| | 19. | Maj (Retd) Md Shah Alam, Psc, Registrar, LU Me | ember Secretary |
| | | | T |

Welcome Address:

At the outset the Chairman of the Academic Council thanked and gave heartfelt felicitation to all the members present in the meeting. Then he requested Controller of Examinations to proceed with the agenda of the meeting.

Agenda (1): Approval of the Lists of Undergraduate and Graduate from Fall-2012 to Fall-2017 for 3rd Convocation.

Discussion:

The lists of Undergraduate and Graduate from Fall-2012 to Fall-2017 for 3rd Convocation was placed before the Academic Council. A threadbare discussion took place on the issue.

Decision:

- a. The Academic Council approved the list of Undergraduate and Graduate from Fall-2012 to Fall-2017 for 3rd Convocation.
- b. The Academic Council decided that the following criteria will be adopted for awarding Medals on different categories:

- (1) All Categories of medal will be Gold Medal Award.
- (2) **Chancellor's Gold Medal:** It will be awarded to the best undergraduate among all Faculties of the LU for the stipulated tenure.
- (3) Vice Chancellor's Gold Medal: It will be awarded to the best undergraduate under each faculty in the undergraduate program.
- (4) Founders Gold Medal: It will be awarded to the best graduate under each faculty in the graduate program.
- 5) Co-Founder Gold Medal: It will be awarded to the best graduate in each department in undergraduate level, where none of the above medals were awarded.
- (6) In Case of Tie: If the academic results of nominees tie, then their Academic Regularity, Discipline, Extra Curricular, Special Quality and Presentation Skill will be considered for selecting the best one.
- (7) Valedictorian By default, Chancellor Gold Medal winner will be valedictorian.

As there was no other agenda to be discussed the chairman concluded the meeting with a vote of thanks.

Prof. Dr. Md. Qumruzzaman Chowdhury

Hon'ble Vice Chancellor, LU

Chairman of the Academic Council

Maj (Retd) Md Shah Alam, Psc

Registrar

Member Secretary of the Academic Council